Burren Law School - Archive

Here lies a collection of past speeches, programmes and other resources from the Burren Law School. We are currently developing a more comprehensive online archive of Burren Law School resourses, speeches and photographs from past events. Items from this years conference can be viewed at our online archive

2004 : Theme - Environment & the Law
Conor Skehan MLA, DIPL Arch, BArch SC. - Dublin Institute of Technology

2008 : Theme - East Meets West - A Clash of Cultures?
Programme of the 2008 Burren Law School

2009 : Theme - Arts and the Law
Programme of the 2009 Burren Law School

2010 : Theme - Power, Its Uses and Abuses
Programme of the 2010 Burren Law School

Pat Rabbitte T.D., Labour Party Spokesperson on Justice

Juan Carrau Mellado, Anti-Corruption Prosecutor, Palma, Majorca
Donnchadh Ó Corráin, Emeritus Professor of Medieval History, UCC

2011 : Theme - Imagining a New Republic, A Comtemporary & Brehon Perspective
Programme of the 2011 Burren Law School
The Pecha Kucha Sessions...
Paul Quilligan, Managing Partner, Quilligan Architects
Dr Áine Phillips, Head of Sculpture, Burren College of Art
Justine McCarthy, Journalist, Sunday Times
Jim Cosgrove

2012 : Theme - Ireland, commemoration & Constitution
Programme of the 2012 Burren Law School

2013 : Theme - Ireland' s Place Among the Nations:
"Irish Identity in the 21st Century"
Programme of the 2013 Burren Law School

Past Guest Speakers at the Burren Law School
Eamonn Barnes D.P.P., Ivana Bacik, Ann Barron (England),
Dr. Muireann Ní Bhrolchain, Teresa Blake, Olive Braiden, Vincent Browne,
The Hon. Mr. Justice Declan Budd, Noreen Byrne, Donal Carey T.D.,
Prof. Angeles Cerezo (Spain), Roger Cole, Dr. Mary Corcoran, Anthony Coughlan, George Cunningham, John Cushnahan M.E.P., Frank Daly, Gordon D'Arcy,
Síle DeValera T.D., The Hon. Ms. Justice Susan Denham, Prof. William Duncan,
David Ervine, Mr. Frank Fahey T.D., Dr. Maureen Gaffney, Paul Gillespie,
Peter Glynn, Tommie Gorman, The Hon. Mr. Justice Adrian Hardiman,
Justice Anthony Hare (N. Ireland), The Hon. Mr. Justice Gerard Haughton,
Mary Angela Keane, Prof. Maurizio Lupoi (Italy), Elma Lynch, Dr. Martin Mansergh, Eamonn McCann, The Hon. Ms. Justice Catherine McGuinness SC., Kieran McGrath, Susan McKay, Dr. John O'Donohue, The Hon. Mr. Justice Hugh O'Flaherty,
Desmond O'Malley T.D., Fintan O'Toole, John Rogers, Diarmuid Rossa Phelan,
Mary Ellen Ring, Brian Sheridan, Andrew Smyth, Dick Spring T.D.,
Ercus Stewart SC., Mervyn Taylor T.D., Peter Ward, Kieron Wood,
Prof. Etienne Rynne, Pat Rabbitte T.D., Juan Carrau Mellado,
Prof. Donnachadh Ó Corráin, Conor Skehan, The Hon. Mr Justice Bryan MacMahon, Gary Hynes, Michael Dervan, Prof. Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin, Robert Balagh,
James Hickey, Alan Stanford, Gerry Smith, Sir Christopher Frayling.

Past Themes at of the Burren Law School


Newtown Castle

Burren Law School at Burren College of Art, Newtown Castle