About the Burren Law School

About the Burren Law School

Close by Newtown Castle, seat of the O’Lochlainns, chiefs of the Burren, is the site of the O’Davoren Law School, one of the three law schools that were situated in the Burren. Between the years 1563 and 1569, Domhnall O’Davoren and his pupils compiled the manuscript now known as Egerton 88, containing an invaluable glossary of Brehon Law and a variety of law texts, one dating back to the 8th century.

The Burren Law School aims to recreate the tradition of legal learning associated with the Brehon Law Schools, allowing the past to illuminate the present in what promises to be a stimulating and entertaining weekend. It will be of interest to the public at large as much as to members of the legal and caring professions, historians and relevant interest groups.

Burren Law School is facilitated by the Burren College of Art Ltd., a charity dedicated interalia to the heritage and cultural development of the Burren.

Burren Law School Committee

  • Senator Ivana Bacik
  • Paddy Brennan
  • Maura Butler
  • Mary Hawkes-Greene
  • Martin Hawkes
  • Kieran McGrath
  • Aengus Ó Corráin
  • Peter Ward


Get updates from Burren Law School

* indicates required

Burren Law School Tweets


Join us on LinkedIn


Burren Law School, Newtown Castle, Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, Ireland.
+353 65 7077200

Please note that this website uses cookies. By continuing to browse and use this website, you are consenting to the use of cookies.

Twitter | Linkedin | Legal & Privacy Information | Credits | Homepage